Why I’m never going to be a Food Blogger…

I love cooking and baking, admittedly I don’t get in the kitchen as much as I used to, but nevertheless it is a hobby of mine that I don’t think will ever fade. I watch lots of cookery programmes and have my favourite cookery books that I flick through in the evening. I always enjoy getting new ideas from these and then putting my own spin on the recipes, making sure that they are cheap to make, quick to cook and, of course, tasty!

So, off I went, camera in hand, to get some snaps of my ‘Spicy Roasted Vegetable Couscous’, which is becoming a bit of a favourite of mine. All was going well, as I snapped a picture of the ingredients needed for the recipe.

IMGP5291

  • 1/3 cup cous cous
  • 2 tbsp roughly chopped parsley
  • 1 butternut squash
  • Around 14 cherry tomatoes (both the tomatoes and butternut squash will have left overs which you can reheat with some fresh couscous the next day)
  • 2tbsp of oil (or butter if you don’t have any in, but this will have a higher tendency to burn so oil is best)
  • 1 level tbsp dried mixed herbs
  • 1 level tsp spice rub seasoning
  • Salt and pepper to season

IMGP5296

I even got some pictures of the prepped veg, as I thought the bright orange of the butternut squash was lovely.

IMGP5297

In terms of the recipe. Preheat oven to 200C. Peel and prep butternut squash into about 2cm square pieces. Add into roasting tin with cherry tomatoes, spice rub, dried herbs, seasoning, oil and toss together. This will take around 30 mins, for squash to go soft and get some caramelisation.

About 10mins before the end of cooking time, put couscous in a bowl, cover with boiling water (around 200ml) , place a saucer over the bowl to prevent the steam from escaping and leave to cook. (As I was waiting for this, I washed and chopped the fresh parsley, and then set aside until assembly.)

IMGP5301

I happily got a picture of the roasted squash, but then I forgot about food blogging and remembered I was quite hungry. I combined around half of the roasted veg with the couscous and mixed in the parsley and went on to eat the lot. It was only as I was literally eating the last spoonful that I looked across the kitchen bench and saw my camera placed down. The photos!!

So, although this adds to the credibility that this is a tasty recipe, it doesn’t really help you get an idea of the finished product (which is a sort of a food blogger essential.) I will be having this again so I will try to remember to get a picture, and try and improve on my current failing food blogger status!

Leave a Reply

