The Prompt-Giving

I started a new job two weeks ago. It’s just a little part time job to fit around uni. I have been trying to find something that is quite flexible in terms of hours, but with so many students and other keen individuals, this task has taken me quite a while! I was so pleased when I found out that I had been successful with my application/interview, but I was also a bit apprehensive. Would I be able to manage it, or would I just make a complete fool of myself even being there?!

I am slowly just starting to get the hang of it all. Just! I am still making lots of mistakes, not knowing what to do half the time and pressing my buzzer in the hope that one of the other staff comes to help me. But overall, I am really enjoying it and felt like the experience was a good place to start talking about this week’s #ThePrompt word – Giving.

It gives me lots of things. The first thing that springs to mind when you think about the word in a working context is money. It’s a nice feeling to think that someone values your work and effort enough that they will pay you to come in to work for them.

But the staff themselves are also giving. The phrase ‘We are like a little family’ was mentioned by a couple of the staff when I was meeting everyone and I honestly believe them. I still haven’t fully fitted in. I am a bit quiet and I’m having trouble remembering everyone’s names. (Everyone wears a name badge, but it is difficult to look down at their name badge when you are having a conversation with them!) But they have all been so friendly and welcoming. They’ve given up their time to help out-countless times in fact- to slowly go over the thing they had only just explained to me ten minutes earlier. They all have other jobs they need to be doing, but never hesitate to help if they see that I’m struggling.

It is all non-stop at the minute with work, study, essays and deadlines, but I genuinely look forward heading to work. And it has made realise that importance giving, as it can make someone feel so valued.

The-Prompt-Featured-Image

Linking up with ‘Mum turned Mom’ at http://mumturnedmom.com/the-prompt/

One thought on “The Prompt-Giving

Leave a Reply

