Finally pressing publish

I’ve been umm-ing and ahh-ing over whether to actually start a blog for a long time now. Anyone that knows me will say that I rarely do anything impulsive and my blog has shown just that. My blog started with a completely different name, then I changed the name again, then another name, and then I finally settled on General Ramblings. Perhaps I finally settled on that particular name due to its lack of direction. It meant I could just blabber on about a number of things, instead of having to definitely have a set focus on something in specifically, just because the subject was set in the title.

So off I went, happily pressing the keys on my keyboard, slowly typing away and building up a trail of posts. Yet, it always ended with the same ending; ‘publish privately.’ Surely, I couldn’t actually send my little thoughts out into the big, cyber space world? I think this was due to some self-doubt. Would people be interested in what I had to say? What if I run out of things to say? Is my writing style really boring? What if…what if…what if?

I’m also the most un-techy (if that’s even a word!) person that I know, and so I’m not the most normal fit to be a blogger. My phone is about six years old and doesn’t have a camera or the capability to connect to WiFi. I haven’t posted a Facebook status in at least five years or changed my profile picture for at least three years. I don’t have Snapchat or Instagram, and I am now –only just- starting to slowly understand Twitter. (I’m Sarah @general_rambles  if you fancy saying hello!)

But here I am. I am writing and I am enjoying it. I like that I have created this little diary of thoughts that I can look back on in years to come. Thinking and writing up posts, has became very therapeutic, and gave a purpose to my days. For example, instead of having a lazy day inside, I will try to head out to take some pictures for my blog and write up how I spent my day. I like that it has become something I can really focus my efforts on; fiddling with the layout, trying to add widgets(?), and just generally learning something new.

So, I’m going to continue trying, yes it’s certainly nowhere near perfect and I have a long way to go. I’m still not sure if my writing is coherent, or rather just general rambling as the name suggests. I am always forgetting to take pictures for posts and assure myself that I will add them later (the list is getting longer!) and I am still no savvier with social media. But I’m enjoying and it would be disappointing if the only reason that I stopped was because of a  little self-doubt.

Thanks for stopping by, I really do appreciate it!

 

Leave a Reply

